Thanks
    Thanks
    0 Rec'd/0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Need Help Identifying Skin Problem and Advice

Hi all! This is my first time posting on something like this, so thank you for your patience and understanding. My guinea pig is a five year old white crested and for the time that we've had him he's been pretty low maintenance. A couple of months ago I started noticing that he was itching his rump a little more than usual, but didn't think anything of it since it didn't seem like excessive itching. Then, I started noticing that when I scratched his rump he would cock his head to the side and chew on whatever surface was there (that's the best way I could describe it). I took it as his being sensitive about touching his rump since he's always been a little skittish like, and again didn't think much of it. After that, I started noticing white flakes in his fur near his rump that looked to me like dandruff. The only weird part about it is that when I went to pull these patches of dandruff, hair came with it. It was one or two hairs with these patches of dandruff. When I looked closer to his butt, there were black specks on the roots of the hair. When I picked it up and squeezed it between my nails, it just squished into white stuff and looked like dandruff patches. I've looked everywhere and haven't been able to find any posts with people describing the same thing happening to their guinea pig. I can only assume it's mites, but I don't know for sure because I feel like with how long I believe he's had this there would be more hair loss. I realize that I should have looked more into this when I first started noticing the itching, and that's something I've come to deeply regret. The vet isn't an option as I'm in quarantine for the Covid-19 outbreak, and I don't know if I'll be able to afford the vet once life gets back to normal. I'd appreciate any ideas/tips/advice/responses on how to help my little guy.

Thanks
    Thanks