Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Fleece Middles for DIY liners

LeeMarie

Cavy Gazer
OK, so I am new to the fleece scene and have though about making my own liners. I see some DIYs online about sewing two pieces of fleece together with an absorbent middle such as old blankets or towels. I was thinking about using moving blankets as a middle, would this be too thick or maybe not absorb properly? just looking for the best options in the long run. Any advice is appreciated :eek:

spy9doc

Cavy Slave
Many of us use the u-Haul furniture pads (not the quilted ones) which are huge (68" x 85") and work very well when stitched into liners. They are made of recycled denim and are only $7.95. Unlike others, I don't use two layers for the middle because most sewing machines have difficulty handling that much bulk. I find that a single layer is quite sufficient.

https://www.uhaul.com/MovingSupplies/Packing-Supplies/Furniture-Pad/?id=2670

Be sure to wash and dry the blankets on HOT BEFORE sewing as they will shrink quite a bit. After washing and drying, I recommend that you press the pad with an iron so that it lies flat and you know how much fabric you have to work with. It will also "bleed" blue on the first wash as it is recycled denim. I find that fleece rarely shrinks (unless it is poor quality) but you want to wash the pad and the fleece separately before sewing together because the pad will shrink and the fleece likely won't, and you will end up with funky looking liners after all the hard work you have put into them.

And, no, don't even consider using towels as a middle layer because they take too long to dry and build up an odor pretty quickly!

MaiaBex

Cavy Slave