Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register
  • ONE THREAD per pig please!
    We really want your pig's history all in one place to help you. Please don't start a new thread for a new issue. Just reply to your old one. We can edit the title for you if needed.

Guinea pig from Petco gave birth...

bennettjp

Cavy Gazer
I guess this is somewhat an introduction and a Petco experience rant?

I am new to guinea pigs. I got them for my 10 year old daughter but I ended up enjoying them as much as her it seems. I picked up two females from Petco, one small female on 12/21/19 and a larger female on 12/24/19. I promptly built a 2x6 C&C cage and all has been well so far, except for some mild allergy issues and new owner woes. On Tuesday (02/18) evening, I went to bed owning two guinea pigs and woke up on Wednesday morning with 5. It appears that the smaller female that I picked up on 12/21/19 is the mother. I double checked with the staff at Petco before purchase and they said multiple times they were females. I double checked all of my adoption paperwork which indicates females as well. I reached out to Petco support, they took down my information and said they would look into it and reach out to me later. I took the larger female out and put her in a seperate cage for now until I can confirm she's actually a she, even though there hasn't been any fights or aggression. Has anyone had a similar experience? I don't really know what I expect Petco to do about the situation, but I was either sold a male instead of a female or someone on the staff mixed my females with a male at some point. I am scheduled to have surgery on 02/21 and this is the last thing I need to be dealing with.