Thanks
    Thanks
    0 Rec'd/0 Posts
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)

Guinea pigs and ferrets?

I might be getting a ferret soon. My guinea pig lives in his big cage, that can't be broken into by a ferret (hopefully). I am planning to get another cage for the ferret. Will it still be okay if I have a ferret and a guinea pig??

Thanks
    Thanks
    1,570 Rec'd/1,290 Posts
    Mentioned
    602 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1158 Post(s)

Re: Guinea pigs and ferrets?

Quote Originally Posted by PureElla View Post
    Will it still be okay if I have a ferret and a guinea pig??
    Why not?? So long as they aren't in the same cage, I don't see what the problem would be. I have little knowledge of keeping a ferret, but I don't know that I would put their cages side-by-side even if the ferret can't get into your cavy cage. Anyone else?

Cavy Slave
    Thanks
    Thanks
    0 Rec'd/0 Posts
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)

They won't be side by side. They are a good 2 feet away. If anything, I could always move my guinea pig to my brothers room. The only issue I have, is that my guinea pig will get scared in some way? I don't know if the smell another animal may trigger something, like it does for a dog??? I just don't know, haha.

Thanks
    Thanks
    60 Rec'd/59 Posts
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Quoted
    38 Post(s)

I would definitely have a really secure and safe cage for the guinea pig and the ferret. While domestic ferrets usually eat chow, they are descendants of wild ferrets that hunt rodents and mammals as large as a small rabbit. Your ferret will probably still have that instinct, and I suspect your guinea pig will pick up on a predator in the room right away.

Cavy Slave
    Thanks
    Thanks
    19 Rec'd/19 Posts
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Quoted
    28 Post(s)