Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Fleece Handheld machine for fleece?

squeakymuse

Cavy Slave
Finally came out of read-only mode, yay!
Consider me a novice, though I'm a long time reader and fan of your forum.

Just wanted to ask. I am currently just laying a towel with fleece on top of it and binder clipping every single side down with teeny tiny clips.
This process takes about an hour. But there has to be something better I can do!
I've been thinking about learning some really basic sewing to do some really basic hemming and fixes to some of my fraying clothes but also to make hammocks and pads for my piggies. But as I'm just learning, I'm guess it might be an overkill to invest in a sewing machine. Recently I discovered these little powerless handheld sewing machines that look like staplers.
Have anybody tried anything like this? I wonder if they're just cheap and poorly made. Are these any good for small sewing jobs?

Sorry for such a stupid question out of nowhere, yet still I'd be very grateful if you could share your experience with me.

- Jane

bpatters

Staff member
Cavy Slave
s0158387_s7

Binder spines work well, although some are better than others. Someone one here, but I can't remember who, recommends a particular brand. Maybe they'll see this and join in.

I just put bricks in the corners and along the long edges of my cage, and it worked just fine. But I didn't have any determined burrowers, either.

sauteedsatan

Cavy Slave