Thanks
    Thanks
    0 Rec'd/0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

Special male needs better home.

So I am new to piggies and have posted a few times about my pigs. I have a male named Norbit, who needs a new home. Heís just not happy with us. He constantly bites anyone who holds him, we all have marks. Iím doing something wrong with him but I donít know what, because my other two are the direct opposite of him. He is separated because he was bitting on both the other boys especially if they tried to play. My white boy has wounds because heís constantly getting bullied. So I separated Norbit from them but they share a wall so he is close and not so alone. I just donít know what to do. He needs a new home with someone who knows what they are doing and have more understanding of whatís going on. Trust that this pains me. Heís young, about 4 months old.

Iím in Pa, Lancaster. If anyone knows someone. My only other step is a rescue.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thanks
    Thanks
    680 Rec'd/587 Posts
    Mentioned
    181 Post(s)
    Quoted
    361 Post(s)

Re: Special male needs better home.

It's very possible that Norbit has mites. They cause a piggie to be painful and that will make the piggie bite whenever they are touched. The fact that he is biting the other piggies when they try to play is also a sign of mites. Norbit feels uncomfortable and he is biting out of pain not out of meanness.

He can be treated with Ivermectin. There are several posts here on the forum about how to dose the Ivermectin and where to find it. If you want to try that before rehoming him I think you will find that once he feels better he will be a different piggie.

No matter what you choose, I wish you good luck.

Cavy Slave
    Thanks
    Thanks
    0 Rec'd/0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)