Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hi! Experienced owner but new here & have a question, need direction

Moosepunk

Cavy Slave
Hello everyone! I have 2 female guinea pigs, 2½ & 2 years old. Since recovering from medical problems they have brought me as well as my older sons & husband a great deal of companionship and love. I liked the C&C cages but as a woodworker I wanted a slightly different look so I built them a cage similar to a C&C 2x6. They are centrally located in our home and often have their door open as they have love to explore the living room. I can post pics... I think I saw a thread (?). Now... I dearly love these little ones, we snuggle & yes, even occasionally nap together, however I noticed a ‘bump’ which later became 3 bumps after an hour drive to an animal hospital that specializes in small animal surgery which then turned into a $1400 surgery to remove 3 encapsulated lumps & a hysterectomy. Coming up with $ will be a struggle as we are in the process of moving however I am determined to ‘figure it out’.
—Let me stop by saying... if someone knows where I should ask this question could you please direct me?? It turns into a moral/ethical dilemma especially as many years ago I was a vet tech and assisted with surgeries.

ANYHOW... I would love to post pics, my little ones are Petey (Petra) & Juno and they are very loved and cared for! They even run around to extremely calm dogs. I love this community and am eager to be a part of it!

spy9doc

Cavy Slave
It turns into a moral/ethical dilemma especially as many years ago I was a vet tech and assisted with surgeries.

Welcome to the Forum! You will find the answers to almost any question about cavies.......the archives of posts go back about 13 years.