Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Cleaning Best Bedding for Kitchen?

Krystaleb97

Cavy Slave
Right now I have tried using paper pellets and aspen shavings and I leave them in the kitchen for about three to four days and then empty it out completely but I feel like its wasting a lot of bedding!! I have gone through more bedding now than when I used to have them in smaller cages, changing the bedding once a week. Their kitchen is about 25 inches by 24 inches with 2 inch sides. Its only been about a month that theyve had their kitchen and Ive already gone through 4 big bags of their bedding. I used to only buy a bag a month!

If the bedding was actually completely soiled after the four days then I would not be posting this but I compost all my bedding and most of it is dry when I throw it in the compost! This is my first time with a C&C cage and kitchen and Im just wondering if this is how much bedding is normally wasted? Is there some magical color-changing bedding that changes color when peed on? With their old cage I would kind of sift through it and save the non soiled bedding but with the kitchen and how often I have to clean it, I cant be sifting through it all the time and wasting all my gloves. I just want to know how often to normally clean a kitchen. My cage only has two boys. Thank you in advance!

wheekermommy

Cavy Slave