Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Behavior Quick question

fyffe2017

Cavy Slave
First of all, I got A GP. 1 that turned into 3! I'm no expert, but I signed up for this and I WILL do the very best for them!

My momma who I rescued has delivered 3 babies. Two are beautiful healthy bouncing babies, we lost one during birth... :(My question is momma has always done an action and now babies who LOVE being petted are doing it as well. Every now and then they will raise their heads like they are headbutting. Is this a behavior due to them not liking being petted on their head/neck or what?:confused: I just wanna know why they do this and understand the behavior so I can make sure they aren't trying to say "hey I don't like that" or what.

ALSO, the growling sound they sometimes make... Same thing what is that sound and what does it mean?:confused:

Thank you for your input!!

Back story: "I rescued a female that was locked in a dresser drawer with no food, no bedding, and eating the wood on the drawer to stay alive. After 2 months of having her she had her babies... Sadly the other 5 GP's that were in the house have died since. I called to ask about them and was disheartened to hear that one got sick died and every other day another one died until they had no more." :mad::mad::mad:

LittleSqueakers

Cavy Slave
I've always been curious about the headbutting behavior when being pet, too! Tribble would do it if I pet his head a certain way -- mostly if I was petting over his nose or kind of covering his eyes, -- but I'm not really sure what it means. Maybe an instinctive response to the feeling that they're head is being restrained??? Maybe a dominance signal?? I'd also be interested to know!