Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Cage What is a kitchen, how do you make it?

MamaGuinea

Cavy Slave
So I'm a newbie. I just built a basic 2x5 C&C cage (no upper levels - my piggies hate ramps) for our three piggies, and I am mystified by the concept of a kitchen. Right now, I just put their dry food in a food bowl which moves around the cage. Their fresh food takes up a lot of space when they get it a couple of times a day - I put the veggies on a large tray/platter which I place basically in the middle of their cage, and later remove after they have eaten. They have water bottles at each end of the cage as well. Their hay goes into a large walk-in box (entrance/exit on each side), almost the size of a kitty litter tray. This box also moves around the cage. Basically, the entire cage is their kitchen.

I am intrigued by the idea of them pooping and peeing mostly in that space, but not sure how to go about setting this up. How do you make a kitchen in a 2x5 or similar? How big should it be? Is the kitchen supposed to have bedding, hay, and all the fresh food and water, with none of these items available outside of the kitchen?

Also, a slightly different question: how important is it to have a hayrack? Right now I just provide hay in a large walk-in bin - no hayrack.

Snugglybutt

Cavy Slave
I am also confused about the concept of a kitchen. I'd love to have one though!

To answer your question about hayracks: it's not really important to have one. One of my pigs prefers eating hay off the floor. It's a matter of preference. I used to leave big piles of hay in the middle of my cage but my cage got messier quicker.

wheekermommy

Cavy Slave