Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Fleece What to Use Under Fleece Layer? (Lots of Questions!)

HollyG

Cavy Slave
Please remove if this has already been asked/answered but I couldn't find concrete answers when searching the forum.

I'm new to fleece bedding but very hopeful about starting it sometime soon (I'm currently using Aspen bedding). I have bought the fleece and am in the process of making sure liquid goes through it but I'm not quite sure what to put underneath it. I have seen/heard a lot about UHaul pads but unfortunately I don't live anywhere near a UHaul and shipping is just to expensive to consider that an option.

I'm looking for something more of a fabric rather than newspaper or something similar. I put pee pads underneath the Aspen shavings now but I was hoping for a more economical option. I've read that some of you use towels underneath - would terry cloth work just as well? It seems like that would get soaked quickly and may stink and/or remain wet.

The bottom layer does need to be absorbent from my understanding. So something like a tarp wouldn't work, is this right? What about neoprene or some other type of fabric/ready made item like the UHaul pads?

Also, do you sew the absorbent piece to the fleece or do you just layer them and wash them separately?

I'm also considering wood pellets to use in the future underneath but if I did that would I also need to have something between the fleece and pellets? I have just one pig right now and she has a litter box that she uses when she feels like it.

Thanks in advance!

bpatters

Staff member
Cavy Slave
I'll answer for the pellets. You don't need anything between the fleece and the pellets. The pellets are the absorbent layer.

sallyvh

Cavy Slave