Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Adopting Guinea pigs as classroom pets for college program. Opinions wanted

ilovescience

Cavy Gazer
Hello,
I am a college student and I work on campus for a STEM program. We have our own room on campus where students like to hang out, study and play board games. As STEM majors, a lot of our students experience a great deal of stress and pressure on a regular basis and many of our students are not in a position where they could own their own pet. I think a classroom pet would be a nice addition to our space, but I would love to hear any thoughts or concerns experienced guinea pig owners may have. I have created the following list of questions I would love to hear your thoughts on. I have never owned a guinea pig before.
  1. Do you think being in an environment with a lot of people on a regular basis, that is sometimes moderately loud would cause the guinea pigs too much stress?
  2. I was planning to take them home on weekends or breaks and have two cages. One at home and one at work, do you think this change in environment on a regular basis would make them unhappy or cause them harm?
  3. Do you think having guinea pigs as "classroom pets" is a good idea or a bad idea? I love animals and want to be a responsible owner.
  4. Do you have any tips for introducing them to this new environment? I was thinking about adopting them during the school quarter and keeping them at home for a bit till they get used to me and then moving them into the center over break so they can get used to the environment and have a chance to adjust before students start coming in.
Feel free to comment on anything not on this list.

bpatters

Staff member
Cavy Slave