Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Biting Guinea pig biting and scratching others

chilli

Cavy Gazer
Hi everyone, I'm rather new to owning guinea pigs and I have four male guinea pigs named Joey, Oscar, Kanye and Larry.
Larry is Joeys dad and they have been together all their life so they get along well. I got Oscar and Kanye from a pet store. (I know that it is bad to get guinea pigs from pet stores). I had Joey and Larry for maybe a month before I got Oscar and Kanye. They originally all got along pretty well until recently. This morning when I went to feed all of them I heard a small scream/whine noise and Larry ran outside of the indoor part of their hutch. The first thing I saw was that he had a large part of his ear bitten off and there was some blood around the area. I really wanted to take him to the vet but the vet isn't open until Tuesday and it is Saturday. I put him in a box with some hay, grass, food and water and brought him into my room. He was sitting in the corner of the box and barely moving for a long time so I brought Joey inside too and the two of them were getting along reasonably well. I decided to take them both out to the hutch again but this time Kanye was attacking Larry and Joey too. Whenever Joey would try to run outside of the indoor part, Kanye would pull him back in. Not only this, but he was also chasing Joey around and trying to get sexual (You know what I mean) with him even though they are both males. So now I am currently sitting in my room with Kanye in the box by himself and I have no idea what to do. I'm sure that there is something that I may be doing wrong but that's because I am 15 and the guinea pigs are basically my responsibility

bpatters

Staff member
Cavy Slave