Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Diet Hoping to get clarification on hay for my guinea pigs

Ccualumni

Cavy Slave
I read the threads about hay, the brands and where to buy. I am new to this and feel like I have been an awful owner so far. We have had them for about a month and it all seemed so simple when we bought them. The more I read, the more I realize I do not know. I will post a few questions in other subs as I have quite a few questions and need help.

My questions:
Is the hay sold on Amazon such as Oxbow or Small Pet Select the same product as going to the online stores I found linked here? I would prefer to buy from Amazon for simplicity, but would prefer not to get a lower quality product by going to Amazon. I noticed Oxbow comes in a plastic bag and read here that the bagged ones may have been on a shelf for a long time.

I looked at Sierra Valley and the notes state that their 2nd cut had dry weather and is not as good as it usually is. Should I skip them and go with the other options?

i like the hay listed on the Small Pet Select site. My plan would be to get the 2nd cut Timothy hay, but I see some listed as a special treat that I can mix in. There is Oat Hay as well as gourmet that can be added to the Timothy. Is that worth doing? Is it a special treat or just a marketing gimmick? They also list Alfalfa hay for pets under 1 year old. Should I be using Alfalfa instead of Timothy?