Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hay Best hay and pellets?

stayarctic

Cavy Slave
Hey everyone! I'm new to owning guinea pigs, and I've been trying me best to get them the best food I possibly can but I want to know what other people out there use to make sure I'm doing okay! I currently use (broken link removed) and these pellets. I think the pellets are just fine, as I followed the advice to buy plain pellets without any additions like dried fruit and stuff. However I'm wondering if there's a better hay brand to buy. My piggies really enjoy the grassy bits of the hay, and not to much the tough stems, so I want to find a brand that contains more grassy bits. Any advice?

Here's a bonus pic I got of Miso sniffing around, but it looks like he's rocking out:
IMG_5904.jpg

spy9doc

Cavy Slave
The hay is fine but the pellets are garbage! In fact, almost everything Kaytee makes is not suitable for cavies.

The preferred pellets here on the Forum are either Oxbow or KMS. You want to buy pellets that are high in protein and low in calcium. And, the form of calcium used should NOT be calcium carbonate/limestone which has been implicated in causing stone formation.

You will spend a fortune over the lifetime of the piggies if you buy hay from a pet store......in those small bags, plus it is likely not fresh. Most of us buy our hay in bulk from Small Pet Select, KMS Hayloft, Sierra Valley Hay, and one or two others. Consider that most hay is harvested around September and the seller has that one crop for the next year. Timothy hay is the most popular, with others of us using Orchard grass or Bluegrass. Timothy is known for provoking allergies so orchard or bluegrass is an alternative.

Use the Search function on the Forum. You will find a wealth of information in previous posts. BTW, welcome to you and the fur babies!