Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Any reason coroplast wouldn't work in MW?

  1. #1
    Cavy Slave KaLeigh's Avatar
    Joined
    Jul 17, 2014
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    29
    Thanks
    9 Rec'd/6 Posts
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)

    Any reason coroplast wouldn't work in MW?

    I ordered a Midwest habitat plus before I found this site/forum and now I really want to use a coroplast base in it. Is there any reason it can't just be put inside the canvas base?
    Has anyone done it? What are the inside dimensions? (I'm still waiting for my cage to arrive)

  2. #2
    Cavy Slave pigger123's Avatar
    Joined
    Nov 26, 2013
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,203
    Thanks
    456
    Thanks
    657 Rec'd/453 Posts
    Mentioned
    173 Post(s)
    Quoted
    319 Post(s)

    Any reason coroplast wouldn't work in MW?

    You can remove the canvas bottom and use coroplast instead, the cages store on here actually sells coro bases for midwest cages. You can look on the cages store for dimensions, they have the coroplast dimensions listed for everything. However, if you're going to use coroplast anyway, you might as well just build a C&C cage, in my opinion. That way you can make it much bigger, and it's more flexible and easily expandable. But since you already have the midwest, you can certainly put a coroplast base instead of the canvas.

  3. "Thank you, pigger123, for this useful post," says:


  4. #3
    Cavy Slave KaLeigh's Avatar
    Joined
    Jul 17, 2014
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    29
    Thanks
    9 Rec'd/6 Posts
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)

    Re: Any reason coroplast wouldn't work in MW?

    I'm wondering if I can just return the Midwest :/ I ordered it through Amazon.. shipping notice said ETA Tuesday

  5. #4
    Cavy Slave Starthecavy123's Avatar
    Joined
    Jun 23, 2013
    Location
    Salisbury, MD
    Posts
    3,294
    Thanks
    497
    Thanks
    582 Rec'd/536 Posts
    Mentioned
    124 Post(s)
    Quoted
    356 Post(s)

    Re: Any reason coroplast wouldn't work in MW?

    You can actually remove the canvas bottom and just use the cage part. All you need to do is measure the inside so the coro will fit inside just like you do with the grids. Alot I of people don't like the canvas bottom so they use coroplast instead. If you want to use the Midwest then I would just take away the canvas.

  6. #5
    Cavy Slave KaLeigh's Avatar
    Joined
    Jul 17, 2014
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    29
    Thanks
    9 Rec'd/6 Posts
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)

    Re: Any reason coroplast wouldn't work in MW?

    Hmm.. only problem is the more I see C&C, the more I dislike the Midwest. What to do...

  7. #6
    Cavy Slave Starthecavy123's Avatar
    Joined
    Jun 23, 2013
    Location
    Salisbury, MD
    Posts
    3,294
    Thanks
    497
    Thanks
    582 Rec'd/536 Posts
    Mentioned
    124 Post(s)
    Quoted
    356 Post(s)
    Well you can wait till it arrives then return it. I buy almost everything from Amazon. Or you can keep it and use it for either a playpen, a quarantine cage or a cage for when your cleaning their other cage like a temporary housing area. At least then you wouldn't have waisted your money. Or some people attach them to their c&c cages. Like a upper level or something.

  8. "Thank you, Starthecavy123, for this useful post," says:


  9. #7
    Administrator bpatters's Avatar
    Joined
    Sep 23, 2009
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    28,403
    Thanks
    169
    Thanks
    7,194 Rec'd/5,729 Posts
    Mentioned
    2020 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3764 Post(s)

    Re: Any reason coroplast wouldn't work in MW?

    It'll make the cage too small. And besides, the MWC's have a (supposedly) waterproof base.

  10. #8
    Cavy Slave
    Joined
    Mar 21, 2013
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    3,292
    Thanks
    734
    Thanks
    523 Rec'd/459 Posts
    Mentioned
    199 Post(s)
    Quoted
    415 Post(s)

    Re: Any reason coroplast wouldn't work in MW?

    I'd return it. That's what I did.

User Tag List

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •