Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hi from WI!

tyanna

Cavy Slave
Hi! I am new to guinea pigs. I had done a lot of research on many forums before I got my guinea pig. I am Tyanna and from Wisconsin, I am 19 years old, live with my husband and two tortoises. :)

I got Nugget on Saturday. She/he (haven't checked yet, I want to try and let her get used to me first) is kept on fleece right now. I will be making something myself that fits better. I just used what I had on hand which is working fine, I just want it to look pretty and more nice! She has eaten red leaf lettuce, green leaf lettuce, some celery, some tomatoes, a small amount of cut up strawberry, red bell pepper, and a little bit of orange, and a little bit of apple. I plan to mix it up more every day but this is what I have given her so far. She is also eating alfalfa hay as I was told she's still needing it instead of Timothy. If this is wrong, please tell me! I have seen her drink a few times as well. I have only taken her out once, she let me pet her but is still extremely skittish. I will continue to try to pet her in her cage. She is kept in a 2x3 Christmas storage bin, I plan to add a second level, or even a small loft soon. We are loving her so much already!

A second friend in the future is an option, but I want to see how this goes first. I will be giving her lots of love and affection as I struggle from really bad anxiety and depression. She has already been very therapeutic.
image1.jpgimage2.JPG

Kenna18155

Cavy Slave
Beautiful piggy! When you decide to get him/her a friend, try to adopt instead of buying from a pet store. Pet stores often treat their animals badly, and buy from breeding mills that fuel overpopulation. You definitely should get her a friend, though, as guinea pigs can easily get depressed without a buddy.