Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Cage Unplanned Piggie, will this work as a cage?

J.Bosley

Cavy Slave
Hey Everyone!
Just a VERY quick question, I am VERY new to Guinea Pigs... will a dog kennel work as a cage, just temporarily while I figure out a C&C cage? I'm looking into rescuing a Guinea Pig from a hoarding situation, but it's time sensitive!

(broken link removed)

I posted a link to the kennel I have, and it's about 24" in length, and 18" wide. I will use puppy pads, and then fleece for the bottom! I've been reading a ton about Guinea Pigs on here, and am hoping to rescue this guy soon.

PiggieWigglies

Cavy Slave
Hi and welcome! I think its best to wait for a pig once you have everything in order.

Pellets: A good brand of pellets to get is Oxbow Cavy Cuisine for pigs 6 months and up, Oxbow Cavy Preformance for newborns to 6 months old (it has extra calcium for them to grow) and KMS Hayloft. You will need PLAIN Timothy pellets, no nuts, seeds, or colores bits. The amount of pellets to give your pig is 1/8 of a cup per pig, per day. Pigs under 6 months can have unlimited pellets.

Hay: Guinea pigs need a long grass hay to keep their teeth worn down and their gut moving. Good hay to give them is either Timothy or Orchard. There are more substitutes but I cant think of the other substitutes. Baby guinea pigs need Timothy hay, along with either parsley or alfalfa hay WITH their Timothy for extra calcium to grow. Alfalfa is not a long grass hay to be feeding your pig. Its a legume like a pea, and does not keep their teeth worn down.

Water: People say water bottles are the best choice, because water dishes get too dirty and can flip over. If you are worried about extra minerals in the water and you have a Brita Filter you can use that (I use it)