PDA

View Full Version : Im new to this

kass.mb
03-24-14, 03:01 am
Hey everyone my husband and I recently got two male guinea pigs their names are Gus and Nitro we researched quite abit before we got them also ive read so much here so knew what to feed and look out for and I also had a piggy when I was younger (but my mum did all the hard stuff) its just even though reading about other peoples questions and answers im still worried one of them is sick. I hear sneezing every so often maybe once or twice every 2 or 3 days (I did just change their bedding from pine to aspin)and also one of their urine is milky should I be worried they had a vet check two days before I got them oh and they are only 4 months old :) sorry I cant help but worry :)

RandomCavy
03-24-14, 06:45 am
The milky urine could mean he is getting too much calcium. What are you feeding them? Also are you sure that it is sneezing, or is it coughing? one of my pigs eats too fast, and will sometimes cough from his food going down the wrong pipe. Did he only start sneezing after you switched to aspen? Also you will want to make sure of their genders (especially if you got them from a pet store) so that you don't end up with a pregnant piggy. http://www.cavyspirit.com/sexing.htm is a good page to look at. Welcome to the forum! :)

bpatters
03-24-14, 07:41 am
Guinea pig urine is normally slightly milky. But very milky can indicate too much calcium. We don't usually worry too much about in young pigs, but after six months of age, it's time to regulate the calcium in their diets. And it's possible to overdo the calcium even for young pigs.

What exactly are you feeding them now? What kind of hay? What kind of pellets and how many? What kind of veggies and how much of each kind?

Starthecavy123
03-24-14, 10:28 am
Where did you get them, pet stores are notorious for selling sick pets.