Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hello from Canada. I'm glad my piggies fit inside my igloo!

HoneyBadger

Cavy Slave
I have two Abyssinian lady pigs that I picked up from a family about 2 months ago. This is my first time owning guinea pigs and I have been very grateful for all the resources available on this site. After having numerous questions answered by searching the forums I decided it was about time to make my own profile.

My two piggies are Blue Moon and Lilliputian. Blue is on the left and the one on the other left is Lilli. The family I picked them up from told me they were about a year old. That sounds good enough to me.

IMG_1124.jpg

I did a little research before I picked them up so I had my C&C grids already waiting at home for them when they arrived. They came with a bunch of CareFresh and so that's what I kept them on for about the first month. Once my 2x4 cage and wooden second level were complete I realized I was going to need an entire $30 bag of CareFresh each time I changed their bedding, which was just too expensive. I was hesitant to use fleece as I thought it would be a pain to clean but the low cost of it forced me to give it a try. I'm now about a month into using the fleece and I'm quite happy with it.

IMG_1150.jpg

IMG_1156.jpg

I feel like the second level crowds out the bottom level somewhat, so I'm thinking about expanding the base to 3X4, I just need to learn how to sew...