Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

New pig owners, all advice welcome! :)

ruthanniris

Cavy Slave
Hi! We are Rou and Matt, a young couple based in Manchester! I (Rou) did grow up with pigs so am not a complete novice although they were mostly outside pigs, ours will be the opposite! We are in the process of adopting some baby pigs at the moment and they will be moving in on the 15th March, we have aready learned a lot from browsing through this forum but would love to get any advice you have to offer! We have got a one tier cage with view to get a c&c one with a 1x2 loft. We would love any advice on how to make the best set up for our pigs, any help with daily routines etc would also be great, we just want as much advice as we can get so we know 100% that we're doing the best for our pigs!! Thanks in advance, we look forward to getting to know you all!

Heather_GP

Cavy Slave
Welcome :D ! The advice on this forum is grand, everyone is so helpful!

Look forward to seeing pictures of your piggies! :)

Princess_Piggie

Cavy Star, Photo Contest Winner
Cavy Slave
Hello and welcome! You're not too far away from me haha!

For two pigs, you'll need 8 sq ft minimum (or in C&C terms, a 2x4). One tier is fine as some pigs just don't understand the concept of ramps anyway haha. I'm not sure what you already know, so I'll just go through the basics! However, if they're little boys you're getting, boys tend to require extra space because they usually fight more if they don't have enough space to get away from each other. Boys usually need a 2x5 C&C minimum.

Hay: Unlimited long strand grass hay needs to be avaliable at all times, as far as I'm aware we can only get timothy in the UK. https://www.timothyhay.co.uk/ I order mine from here, it's great quality and better VFM than what you'd pay for a tiny bag in a pet shop.