PDA

View Full Version : URI/Upper Respiratory Infection Baytril administration

SamIAm
02-08-14, 11:58 am
I have a guinea pig (Jose) with an upper respiratory infection that has turned into pneumonia. He was on Bactrim and has now been changed to Baytril and Doxycycline. He took the Bactrim great, loved it actually. He takes the Doxycycline fine, but HATES the Baytril. I have a lot of experience with giving meds, I'm a pediatric nurse and have a pigger on daily meds for heart disease, but Jose really really hates the Baytril, I can force him to take it, but he gags on it and is starting to run from me and not like me too much either. I'm wondering if anyone has mixed it with a carrot juice or other juice to disguise the taste. I obviously would still make him take it through a syringe and only a small amount. I thought I had seen something at one time on this but can't find it now. Any suggestions??

Rywen
02-08-14, 12:07 pm
Ferb's vet said its okay to dip the tip of the syringe in orange juice. I also gave Ferb a small treat after he took his medicine so he would take the Baytril with this look of resigned disgust on his face but knew he was getting a piece of cilantro or strawberry after so put up with it.

bpatters
02-08-14, 12:18 pm
See http://www.guinealynx.info/handfeeding.html.

SamIAm
02-08-14, 01:31 pm
Thank you both! I'm struggling to get him to take anything from a syringe now. Ugh. But I am definitely going to be trying some other options. He does seem better today though - no wheezing - yay! So we'll keep trucking along.

Rywen
02-08-14, 01:36 pm
The first few times I gave Ferb meds (he had a URI and was also on Baytril and Doxy) I had to wrap him in a dish towel so only his head stuck out. Then I would hold him against my chest so he couldn't turn his head away. The treat after worked wonders towards getting him to cooperate.

bpatters
02-08-14, 01:53 pm
What size syringe are you using?