Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Pregnancy Pregnant piggie

piggymomma93

Cavy Slave
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1387834584.248375.jpg

Hi all! I'm new to the forum. Attached is a picture of Lola. I got her Black Friday of this year. When I got her she was already pregnant. About 4 days after I could slightly see and feel the babies kick. It's now weeks later, she's huge and the little ninja piggies are kicking like crazy. I have no idea when she got pregnant, I'm wondering if anyone has any insight on this as this is my first time dealing with a pregnant piggie. Any words of advice would be great.

piggymomma93

Cavy Slave
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1387834861.064111.jpg. Lola again

My_3_LittlePigs

Cavy Slave
Wow that is a very pregnant piggy. lol She looks ready to pop soon.. I'm not experienced with pregnant piggies but I'm sure someone here will reply to u soon.. Little ninja pigs, that's cute. I hope everything goes well. :)

foggycreekcavy

Cavy Gazer
Now that's a pregnant pig!

Make sure she gets fruit and veggies/greens every day. It's actually good for her to move around, so put the food dish away from the water bottle.

What size cage? If it's a store bought one it's likely too small for a bunch of babies. Have you checked out the cage size standards, and directions for making a C&C Cage? https://www.guineapigcages.com You'll need to "baby-proof" it, though.

If she's housed with males, remove them asap. She can get pregnant again immediately after giving birth. Any females can stay in the cage with her (providing it's big enough).

piggymomma93

Cavy Slave
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1387847952.141492.jpg

Went out and came home to 4 beautiful baby piggies! Thanks so much for your advice.

piggymomma93

Cavy Slave
Brand new babies