PDA

View Full Version : Beginning My Cavi Journey

MJTEACH
12-13-13, 09:57 pm
Hello all! I am new to the world of Cavi's so I thought I would share how I got here.

I am a preschool teacher (the kids in my class range from age three to five). At the start of the year we had a hermit crab as our class pet and about mid october he died. So since then my preschoolers and I have been investigating other options for class pets. We finally decided that a guinea pig would be our best option and I have been doing a lot of preparation work to know exactly what to expect with a little Cavi. OH BOY I had no idea what I was getting myself into!

After thinking about the logistics I realized that it will be a lot more difficult than I anticipated.

I am building two C&C cages (one for my home and one for the classroom). The Cavi's will travel with me to and from school each day (because during the nights the air temperature in the classroom is not controlled so I'm worried they might get too cold or too warm).

I think I want to start out with just one Cavi to adjust the children to having a small animal in the classroom and then get another one after they have gotten used to caring for the first one.

I have come to realization that I am ultimately going to be the caretaker of these piggies, rather than the children in my class but they will be actively involved in caring for them as well by helping out with feeding times, making sure there is plenty of hay and water, and giving them a lot of love and attention.

Do you all have any tips for me as a new Cavi owner? I've already learned so much by just reading on the web about whats best for these little guys but I still feel a little anxious like I don't quite have the hang of it yet.

Inle_Rabbit
12-13-13, 10:26 pm
I would get two at the same time. Guinea pigs thrive on companionship of their own kind so this would be best for the pigs to help them adjust to their new lives.

PiggieWigglies
12-14-13, 02:40 am