PDA

View Full Version : Total Noob

gatorgirl
10-14-13, 11:24 pm
Just found this forum while doing more research for my piggies... which I don't have yet. I've spent the last several days buying guinea pig supplies and a C&C cage and spending piles of money! I've never owned guinea pigs before and am really excited to adopt.

I've don't really extensive research and think I know what I'm doing, but... is there anything you wish you had known when you were pre-piggie?
Any critical advice for a first-timer that you didn't see in your pre-piggie research?

Thanks!

Artista
10-14-13, 11:31 pm
For me I didn't know males were somewhat harder than females. You have to watch their male part area and clean it. They have boar glue. If you get 2 males, your cage should be bigger than if you have females. I have a girl so I got lucky as I didn't think there was a big difference.

Read up on this board as it has great info!

Also, I had no clue how much they poop. Thankfully my girl's poo and pee doesn't stink and the poo isn't gross like I think ours, cats, dogs are. I think the odorless is highly due to diet and maybe genetics. I got a kitchen from this site and use wood pellets which is cheap as the litter and she's trained her self to go pee in there so I have minimal accidents on the fleece.

gatorgirl
10-14-13, 11:36 pm
Do girls run and play as much as the boars?

gatorgirl
10-14-13, 11:37 pm
I've don't really extensive research

This should say I've DONE really extensive research. D'oh.

ThePigAlchemist
10-14-13, 11:43 pm
I think behavioral differences between males and females are mostly based on the individual rather than the gender. Boys can be more territorial with other pigs (hence the bigger recommended cage size), but running and playing is a personality thing.

MrWhistles
10-14-13, 11:44 pm
Always ALWAYS have Ivermectin on hand
Save "pellet dust" and handfuls of pellets to make pellet mash. Freeze them to ensure they last a while.
Have vitamin C tablets on hand