PDA

View Full Version : Ovarian Cysts Hair loss and ovarian cysts

Linda Hussey
10-06-13, 03:38 pm
Aloha Everyone, I am new to this page and in hopes that someone might have a similar situation they are dealing with. I have 3 female Guinea pigs . About a year ago , one of them started losing fur on her sides which we were told was most likely from ovarian cysts. We eliminated the pellets we were feeling her as they were mainly soy based and just increased her Timothy hay and fresh veggies and fruit. She did get a little better , especially her attitude and energy level but not enough so our vet suggested HCG. With some hesitation we started the HCG and did see improvement. In the meantime her sister ( not sure as they were adopted at a local shelter here in Hawaii but we were told they were ) also started losing hair in the same place. The first guinea who had been on the HCG for a few moths started to get lazy. Oeuvre suggested to stop the HCG which we did. After about a month off of the HCG her fur has become thin and thinning all over and her side are visibly bulging out. I was away from her for 10 days and could not believe the change. I am very worried about her. She is still eating and drinking but looks uncomfortable. I have started the HCG again until I can call the vets tomorrow but I am hoping someone might have an idea as to what is going on. The 3 guinea pigs has not had any issues so I am not sure if it is a genetic thing or a diet and environment thing. I work with essential oils on humans and I would love to use them on my guineas but am unsure as to what would be safe for them. I know frankincense would be what I would choose for a human with this issue. I believe that the 2 guineas with the hair loss are about 3 years old. One more thing, we did take them for ultra sounds and the first one that had been on the HCG did not have any visible cysts but the second one did which is why we started the HCG. She has not regrown any fur but has not lost any