Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

hi. my screen name says it all!

Cavy_newby

Cavy Slave
I'm a cavy newbie. I've never had guinea pigs growing up. Recently, I watched my 6 yr old nephews for a week and fell in love! They are the sweetest and cutest little creatures. I enjoyed having him every minute, so me and my fiance have been thinking about getting 2. 2 females. Does anyone have advice on how/where to adopt? Pet stores are pricey, but understandable I guess. We peeked at Craigslist out of curiosity. Some good prices but is this method "shady"? We're wanting two female babies so they can grow up knowing us and being used to being handled, ect. But we've also decided not get them until we have a good sized and set up cage (probably the most expensive purchase.). So I'd say in a few weeks we very well could be cavy owners!
Any tips on how/where to shop for them? What to look for?
How about bedding? Fleece? How often must one fleece be washed?
Are the paper bits stuff better?

Fill us in! No amount of info is too much! (And yes we've done lots of research. But this forum could be a big help too)

Colorado Cavies

Cavy Slave
Don't rule out an older piggy! We have two guinea pigs that came to us at 1 week (still with mom) and 4 weeks old. They have been handled and given attention and they STILL hate being picked up and cuddled. The one that came to us at a week old is a bit better, she will settle down for pets but makes it clear she really doesn't want to be there. The other freaks out, constantly tries to run away and hates it so much that we don't even try and force it anymore. We take her out for her weight checks and nail clippings and she lets us get away with that but only just.