Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Anxious first time momma for two slightly special needs pigs...

Ahmose Inarus

Cavy Slave
Hello! I am a brand new, first time guardian for a pair of young guinea pigs. While they did kind of fall into my lap, the decision to take them in has NOT been a rash one... I've been working in a veterinary hospital for several years as a receptionist, and I am fortunate enough to work with two veterinarians who see exotics... including precious little piggies. With all the pigs we've treated over the years for a certain pet store, I have found myself longing to have one of my own.

About two months ago, a young brindle colored pig was brought into us very sick. He had a horrible head tilt, was walking in circles, not eating, very lethargic and dehydrated, and we soon found that he had come down with pneumonia. We didn't think he would make it. The vet gave him a vitamin C injection, fluids and antibiotics and after syringe feeding him, I found myself doing my closing duties with the little guy cuddled up on my chest, shivering and purring. I fell in love. HARD. For the next few days, I was syringe feeding him and giving him his medications, and despite the bleak prognosis, the little guy pulled through and recovered with nothing but a slight head tilt, that he will probably have all his life.