PDA

View Full Version : New Guinea Pig Fan!

Blackbyrde
07-10-13, 11:20 am
Hello everyone,

I am a graduate student and newly-minted guinea pig enthusiast. I "discovered" GP's a few months ago when a friend of mine asked me to pig-sit for her while she was overseas for a few weeks. I'm very fond of animals - I've had birds and cats since I was a child, and even worked for a while bathing dogs - but it had never even occurred to me to keep rodents, so I was floored by how quickly her little guy took over my heart.* I loved starting every day by making his tiny salad. I kept his grids-and-fleece playpen next to the sofa where I sit and study all day, and every time I needed an emotional boost he was there to oblige, either with meditative hay munching or furious laps and popcorning (which is laugh-out-loud funny, I would never have thought I could get belly laughs from a little furry potato!).

I cried the day before his mom came to pick him up (just a couple weeks ago) and I feel like there's a guinea pig-shaped hole in my life. We are moving to a place with no central AC, so I'm not sure that it would be fair of me to go out and get my own pigs. I am consoling myself for now by reading this forum, which my friend recommended in case I had any pig-related questions and couldn't reach her right away. I've been lurking for a while, but thought I should at least introduce myself, and tell everyone how much joy I get from reading your stories and seeing your "pigtures." I hope it's all right for me to be around even though I'm not a pig-owner right now. My dream is to be able to foster rescue pigs at some point.

Thanks for sharing your piggie expertise with the internet - I am sure that there are many, many cavys out there whose lives are so much richer and more comfortable thanks to the way forums like this one spread awareness and information on proper husbandry!