PDA

View Full Version : Hello

ClemmyOddieIndy
03-23-13, 04:32 pm
I decided to finally join this forum. I have read it occasionally for a while. I am a frequent visitor to GL, but I like the larger number of posts to read on here.

A little about me: I am a graduate student in Sociology. I have completed my coursework, and I am just finishing up my research. I have a MBA in Marketing as well. I love teaching (I teach Sociology and Women's and Gender Studies), so if I can ever help anyone in those areas let me know. I have spent my entire life with horses, and I am the third generation of equestrian in my family. I know Arabians and Miniatures the best, but I have some experience with other breeds as well.

Animals: I have around 40 horses, 8 dogs, 1 cat (and 1 stray I care for, but he refuses to allow me to come near him), 3 guinea pigs, 2 bettas and 4 mystery snails.

My history with pigs:

In spring of 2009, I lost two hermit crabs and as they died I felt helpless. I still don't know what caused them to die. They had lived almost 5 years with me without any change of routine. Then one night they both stressed, came out of their shells and refused to stay in them. When my horses are sick, when my dogs are sick, when my cats are sick, I am able to take them to the vet. I couldn't find anyone to help me with my hermit crabs, and thus I swore off animals I couldn't find vets to help me care for. The space where the crabs 20 g had been looked empty, so I decided to get a bird. I went to PetCo to get a small bird, but ended up seeing and falling in love with a little black abby. Clementine came home with me in March 2009. I quickly noticed her coughing/sneezing and found GL. The members there told me to take her to the vet, I found one with good reviews as cavy savy, and Clementine was treated for a URI. Learning more about pigs, I realized my pet store cage was not big enough. I built Clementine a 2x4 C&C, with a 2nd level that is 2x2. She seemed so small and alone...