Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register
  • ONE THREAD per pig please!
    We really want your pig's history all in one place to help you. Please don't start a new thread for a new issue. Just reply to your old one. We can edit the title for you if needed.

Impaction Impacted Piggy

petgal49

Cavy Slave
I have had an impacted piggy for a few weeks now and it is progressively getting worse even though I have been doing everything I can to help him out: he has a GREAt high fibre diet (however, he is eating less and less of it) bum bathes while I clean out his sac twice a day and I try to get him active to get his bowels moving but he has always been a lazy pig during floor time. What else can I do? I have very busy schedule as I am a nursing student and a part time job. I am worried I wont be able to keep up with his cleans as I have missed some due to 12 hour clinical days and then work. So I don;t really know what I am asking I just need some support as I am getting very tired of this impaction but I think once it comes it stays for life. I have had him for a year and a half and the Humane Society I got him from knew nothing about him except that he was an "adult". So I really do not know how old he is but I would guess around 3 maybe?

ellisa

Cavy Star, Photo Contest Winner
Cavy Slave
I am sorry you're going through this. Unfortunately, I think the only thing to do with severe impaction is daily cleanings, which you seem to already be doing. Is there someone who you can teach to clean out his sac, so on days when you're busy you don't have to worry about him? Continue to make sure he's eating plenty of hay and getting lots of Vit. C. I'm sorry, I know it must be rough on both you and pig!

petgal49

Cavy Slave
Thanks for the reply ellisa. Anyone else?

Kritastrophe

Cavy Slave