Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register
  • If you need a specific country prefix that isn't listed, please contact the staff.

Australia New to G-Pig diet - QLD

crose136

Cavy Slave
I am fairly new to piggies and I currently have 1 (planning on getting a 2nd soon)- I've been feeding him a petshop guinea pig mix but read that the amount of alfalfa hay in it isn't good for him and was wondering where you get guinea pig pellets from in queensland around ipswich/toowoomba? and how much it usually is?
I also feed him hay from the shops and people say try stiff hay is bad because he can poke an eye or something, where can I get timothy hay around the same areas? if not, is barn hay okay? like the stuff for horses thats $10 and free delivered.
I feed him veggies daily and my dad doesn't listen when it comes to apple and banana and usually gives him a great deal of it. Had him almost a year and no issues but is it okay if he hasn't had problems so far that my dad gives him so much?
Help would be lovely, I want only the best for my Piggy. (yes thats his name -Piggy- :) )

Aleks

Cavy Slave
If you don't mind spending a little extra for shipping you can order a 50lbs bag of sweet meadow. (broken link removed)
Most people recommend Oxbow pellets, but sweet meadow is good as well! It's what I ordered for George and he loves it. With shipping and everything I paid around 50$. It may seem a little pricey, but it'll last quite a while and considering that the pellets I was getting were like 10$ for a 4lb bag it really is a good deal.

You can also order hay online. As far as getting "barn hay" you just need to make sure it's a grass hay and not a legume. It would be best if it were timothy.