Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register
  • ONE THREAD per pig please!
    We really want your pig's history all in one place to help you. Please don't start a new thread for a new issue. Just reply to your old one. We can edit the title for you if needed.

Conditions Rescuing a senior pig from poor conditions...

Sparklederp

Cavy Slave
Hi! I'm a relative veteran guinea pig owner, I've had them since age 12 and am familiar with the intricacies of their care (they need hay and veggies, non-wood bedding, prefer to live in pairs, etc.).

In 2008, I adopted 2 adult male guinea pigs, a tortoiseshell and white Sheltie and a beige roan Teddy, their ages were unknown at the time. The Sheltie, Butters, passed away in 2010 from a respiratory infection. Also in 2010, I moved out of my parents' house for college and entrusted the remaining pig's care with my sister.

I visited recently and my old pig, Omar, isn't getting the care he needs by any means. His cage is dirty, he looks like he has skin and ear mites, and his toenails are curling under his foot pads from never being cut. He doesn't get veggies or timothy and his water bottle has algae in it. He's still loud and excitable and doesn't seem unhappy, but he isn't being cared for well and at his age, I think it's a little dangerous. He's at least 5 years old, maybe older. I'm not technically allowed to have pets in my apartment, but I want to take him back and get him into better health.

Also, I took him to the vet 3 times in his first year back in 2010 for Ivermectin treatment, and he recovered beautifully from a pretty severe case of mites. For this reason, I'm not sure if his ugly skin is actually mites - he doesn't seem itchy or uncomfortable and his behavior is just way different than it was when he was sick that year. Either way, I'm inclined to be cautious.