Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Better late than never

Pigaletto

Cavy Slave
It's occurred to me that I never properly introduced myself or my piggies upon joining to forum. I've been waiting to have some stellar recent photos to start out with, but it doesn't seem like I'm going to get those any time soon, so here goes a long and rambling tale.

My name is Alyssa, and I'm somewhat new to keeping guinea pigs. We had one when I was a kid. He lived for 6 years in (retrospectively) terrible conditions. As a kid I didn't know any better, and my parents didn't know any better, either. I liked him but never really got to see what great pets they can be. I can't tell you how many times I've wished I could go back, knowing what I know now. Nibbles deserved better.

Now, many years later, I've been much more a dog and cat person. I still have cats, but can't have any dogs right now. So last fall I started thinking about getting a guinea pig again. I thought it would be a cute, fun, low-maintenance (haha--boy was I in for a surprise) pet. My guy, Matt, was bitten as a kid and said "No way."