PDA

View Full Version : Kara's cavies cage picture



Beth
11-01-01, 02:40 pm
Help!

I love your setup, but am having trouble duplicating it. It seems that the top cage is too big for the bottom bins. I am doing the setup using 3x2 grids, which shouldn't make a difference considering it is the x2 part I am having trouble with.

Can you please explain in more detail how you attach the top grids to the bottom? Do you have a floor on the cage, and a total box on the base?

Thanks,
Beth

CavySpirit
11-05-01, 05:10 pm
I'll have her reply here! Check back soon.

Karas pigs
11-05-01, 06:16 pm
Yes, I made a complete box out of the grids. So there are the four sides and a complete bottom. We used the plastic connectors at all the connection places and reinforced EACH one with a cable tie. This makes it very sturdy!! And, this way, I can carry the whole thing, minus the legs, outside to clean. Since mine is 2 X 5, I do need help moving it. With a full load of litter and pee, it gets quite heavy.

I hope this answers your question... if not, let me know!

Kara

Karas pigs
11-05-01, 06:17 pm
Let me know if this doesn't explain it and I can take a digital photo for you and post it.

Hey, Teresa, weren't we going to do that??!!

Kara

Beth
11-06-01, 07:46 am
I was able to make the top part from the picture. It is the bottom I can't figure out. When I tried to put the top box on the legs, it didn't feel secure. So I think I am missing something.

Thanks,
Beth

CavySpirit
11-07-01, 09:43 am
Do I have a hard copy photo somewhere here?

KarasKavies
11-20-01, 02:49 am
Let me see if I can help... we secured the sides to the bottom using the connectors and cable ties. My husband used a cable tie at all 4 connection points of the connector. I know that sounds confusing. So you have the connector and 4 grids coming off of it. This would be for a connector in the middle of the bottom. Use a cable tie around each grid to connect it to it's neighboring grid. I will get a photo up for you within a day or so. Mine is rock solid! I sent photos to Teresa. She can send them to you if she has your e-mail address. You can kind of tell what I mean by looking at all the orange cable ties on the side. On the sides, there are 2 cable ties for each connector. On the bottom there will be 4. I sure hope this helps!! If not, I will take some better pictures with the coroplast out.

Kara

matthew1678
11-20-01, 06:41 pm
hi,
I was wondering do you need a bottom part of the cage if it siting on a table? I was wondering because the grids that I can find run about $26.00 for 17 grids and my cage is a 2X5 or 2X 6 and with one box of 17 grids that is the biggest cage I can make with out this cage costing $70-80. so if you do not need a bottom that would be great but if so I will have too save up to get enough cubes to make a bottom. thank you for letting me post a ? slightly of topic. <img src=http://www.ezboard.com/images/posticons/pi_smile.gif ALT=":)">

Pigfarmer
11-21-01, 12:26 am
Hi Matthew,

Pigfarmer
11-21-01, 12:40 am
Hi Matthew,

Since you are putting the cage on a table then no, you don't need more grids for the bottom. If your cage is 5 by 2 then that's a total of 14 grids and you'll have plenty. Even a 6 by 2 is 16 total grids and you have one left over for a hay rack or whatever. You will probably run out of connectors though, so just use zip ties instead. I found a bag of 100 at Home Depot for three or four dollars. I figure if my pigs can bust through those then they deserve free reign of my house :)

Hope this helps you. If it doesn't post another note and someone here will help you out.
-Jeff

matthew1678
11-24-01, 11:28 pm
Cool thanks that just saved me $27.00 now I just need to get the stuff. matt :)