Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Cage Location

MEH_MEH_MEH

Cavy Slave
Okay, this is my first time getting guinea pigs. I am 13 and i only have 1 place to keep them, in my bedroom. I have to keep them in my room because my mom wont let me keep them in any other room in the house. Is this a good place to keep them? (note: i dont have them yet, i still have to buy the cage and supplies. i want to know beforehand so i know what im dealing with.)

CavyMama

Cavy Slave
The bedroom is generally not the best place to keep them. They tend to be too noisy for people to sleep near. Also in an enclosed space, some people's allergies can flare up.

Do you have somewhere to adopt your pigs from? A good place to start is petfinder.com or adoptapet.com.

Are you planning to make a C&C cage?

guineapig988

Cavy Slave
I do not recomend your bedroom as they eat, squeak and drink from their water bottle a lot. Atleast mine are early risers and are very noisy. Mine live in our bonus room and when friends come over and spend the night we always get woken up early. Mine also chew on their tunnel which is loud. It matters if you can sleep though sound or wake up early.

MEH_MEH_MEH

Cavy Slave
yes i am buying a C&C cage a 2X4 because i plan on getting two males. Unfortunatley, i have looked into buying pigs from a shelter but where i live the best i can do is PetCo.

guineapig988

Cavy Slave
I also looked into adopting the shelter nearest to me that has guinea pigs is 3 hours away. So I had to get petco ones. They have been very healthy. There a little skittish but thats it.

MEH_MEH_MEH

Cavy Slave
ok. well my bedroom is my only option to keep my guinea pigs in. though i do not have allergies, the guinea pigs at the petco nearest me don't get picked up themselves very much. so should i expect more noise han usual?

CavyMama