Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hello from Connecticut!

doganddisc

Cavy Slave
Good morning (morning here, that is!) everyone!

I was a member of the forums back in 2007 when I had a group of four males. Unfortunately, my circumstances changed drastically during that time and I had to rehome them on short notice. They went to a very good rescue though and were adopted quickly.

I had been missing my guinea pigs for several years but had to wait until the right time to get back into caring for cavies again. I started looking about two weeks ago and looked at a bunch of different boars (I tend to prefer boars) until I found my first guy. Unfortunately, the place I found him was at a Petco. I know the staff well and used to work there. I know it was a bad move and I shouldn't have, but I brought him home. (I would be giving any friends who made the decision I did an earful so go ahead and give it to me!).

As it turns out, he has what looks like a URI. I posted about that in the medical section.

Other than that, I am a full-time student about to graduate at the end of the year (finally!) with a degree in Animal Science. My specific area of interest is animal behavior. I plan to work on certification with the Association of Pet Dog Trainers once I have my degree. I own and operate a pet sitting business in Connecticut. I also train (using positive reinforcement methods) for clients on the side.

I have previously operated a rescue for herding breeds and performance dogs but have taken time off of that to finish my degree. I plan to continue fostering in the future.

In addition to my new cavy, I have two Border Collies, a Xoloitzcuintli, two cats, and six mice.

I look forward to getting to know everyone here!

pocketmonster

Cavy Slave
Hello and welcome to the forum! I can't wait to see pictures of your piggy!