PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here...please don't be mad.

ldrew7
03-09-12, 04:42 pm
Hi everyone! I am a proud new cavy owner. It's been a whole week since I got the boys: Elvis, Dexter, and Ozzy. I did buy them from a pet store. I know it was a stupid thing to do and I have no excuse for it. They are very healthy tho and have been to the vet today to confirm they are males and that they are healthy. I have them in a large 2x4 C&C cage and I use fleece and towels as my bedding. I tried Carefresh but have thus ended that because it makes too much of a mess, plus it's very dusty. I read all about the fleece and have taken very well to it. So have the boys. Right now I have a Bengal Tiger pattern because I live in Cincinnati and I'm a big fan of the Bengals. I also got a weird camouflage pattern. They are doing very well so far. They get fresh greens everyday. Also Timothy hay all day, everyday. We still can't pick them up without a bit of a chase but they are warming up to us very quickly. I think I have read everything I can about them and hope I am doing a swell job at taking care of them. 22162Ozzy is to the left, Elvis is the black one in the back and Dexter is the albino one.

lauraj
03-09-12, 04:52 pm
cute pic. welcome. i too am new here. have four, three girls and one male

CavyMama
03-09-12, 05:07 pm
ldrew7 - a 2X4 is a bit on the small side for 3 pigs - particularly for males, as they tend to be a bit more territorial than females. It's funny that you got one white, one black and one combination of both! LOL. Also, "albino" is not a breed of guinea pig. The kind you have there would be considered a PEW (or pink-eyed white). All look to be American short-haired. They are very cute but please remember to adopt next time you are looking for a pig.

lauraj - Is your male neutered? Or are the females living separately from the male?

ldrew7
03-09-12, 05:20 pm