PDA

View Full Version : Want to get a Guniea pig

dmdonaldson13
02-18-12, 02:00 am
So I want to get a guinea pig and have been trying to find info. and I started making my cage with the grids , I want to no what i should put under it I dont want coroplast because its to expesive. I am thinking about getting fleece but what should i put under it? how long will a fleece last me before i have to throw it away and does washing it realling get the stink away? What would happen if I forgot to clean the cages for a few days if it was pretty dirty?

lovemypigs.
02-18-12, 02:16 am
under fleece you should put newspaper and then towrls the fleese on top fleece will last a LONG time w.. well when you wash it put some vinegar and soap in with it then do a wash with no soap no nothing just to rinse it out..

prayerdesign
02-18-12, 02:27 am
I'm new to using fleece and C&C cages altogether - I've only had mine set up for a little over a month - but what I do is I have a plastic shower curtain on the carpet, then a couple of layers of towels, then the fleece. I've heard shower curtain's referred to as "poor man's coroplast," and that seems to be true so far. It was only a couple of dollars, and the carpet's absolutely fine!

I think most people use their fleece for at least a year or so. After you wash it, there's no smell to the fleece. I wash mine with a cup of vinegar, and everything smells all right when it comes out!

TCTrun
02-18-12, 02:42 am