Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hi everyone! (:

aislynn99

Cavy Slave
Greetings! My name is Andrea. I'm a Registered Vet Tech and second time cavie owner. My first foray into the world of piggies was rescued from a bad situation about a year ago. His name was Mr. Pickles. His previous owner was bedding him in cedar shavings and feeding him rabbit pellets from the dollar store, mixed with alfalfa ): He was doing poorly when I adopted him and he didn't last but six months before passing away. It was very sad ):

About six months ago I adopted two brothers from an accidental litter, from a nice family down the street who was giving them away on Craigslist. Our local closeout store (Marc's, in NE Ohio) was selling larger than a litterbox elevated cages for only $30, so I picked one up, and it has served well through their babyhood, but now that they are a bit older I'm building them a C&C cage. I just picked up a full sized sheet of bright blue Coroplast today for only $20 from a local sign shop, and I already have my cube ring built, as I've been using a 2x6 ring as their floor time pen for a few months, which I place on a padded linoleum floor remnant I bought at Home Depot. I think I will scale it down to 2x4 for their official C&C cage, or as big as the ancient folding table I recently found in my mom's basement will hold :) I will also build a hinged lid with my extra cube pieces to protect them from my sweet but inquisitive trio of cats.

Anyway, I look forward to chatting with you, and if I can figure out how to post photos, will include some with this post :)

Ok, you should see below their current cage, and then both boys sharing a carrot. The brown boy with the T-shaped eyebrows is Manny, aka Squishy. The tricolor is Bogart, because he loves to steal from his brother :)
IMG_0110.jpgIMG_0419.jpg