Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Papa builds a cage (how piggy learned some new words!)

P

PapaDean

Papa builds a cage (how piggy learned some new words!)

MamaDean's little piggy, Gerta, spent her first week (wheek?) at our house in the old hamster cage, a 2 ft. x 3 ft. plexiglas-sided thing I built over two years ago for Mama's 2 dwarf hamsters.

In the meantime, I studied this web site and collected the parts for building a Cube Cage. The new Target store right up the road had a 6 cube set and a local wholesale (to the public) banner company had a 4 ft. by 8 ft. sheet of white Coroplast for $12.

I assembled a cube fence of 2 squares by 5 squares on the living room floor and Mama put little Gerta (I call her "Miss Piggy") in it for some floor play time. The first thing the little rascal did was to put her head most of the way thru a grid square. Mama hollered and piggy ran! Into the hamster cage with her (piggy, not Mama).

Next I took measurements with my trusty carpenter's rule and jotted down dimensions of the inside of the cube fence. [/b] WARNING: be sure to figure in some clearance for the coroplast to fit inside the fencing! I thought I had, but later, to my chagrin, I was just a little long on my length measurement. Anyway, I laid out the coro so that I would use the whole 4 x 8 sheet on this project, centered inside the cube fence.