Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hello!

newToCavies

Cavy Slave
Hi everyone, I'm new to guinea pigs :) I have two sows, Kayzie and Pixi, both short haired American/English guinea pigs.

I have a dog, a very laid back Papillon (yes there is such a thing ;) ) and I wanted to get a hands on pet that I could hold and sit with around my 5 pound dog. I also have a bit of an extreme fear of being bitten. When I was a kid, we had a very mean gerbil that would bite so much that the only way we could pet it was if we had socks over our hands. ANYWAY - I've always loved the small rodents, but the smell and the biting deterred me. I saw a pets show on animal planet featuring guinea pigs and I was amazed how different from hamsters and gerbils they were! I was in the pet store buying food for my dog, and I'm not an impulse buyer of animals by nature, but I asked the small animals employee about them and the point that they are very gentle and rarely bite sold me instantly. I instantly fell in love with Kayzie, not nearly as squirmy as all the others, stunningly beautiful and almost rabbit-like in shape/fur - it's hard to explain. :)