Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

When to Separate two Sows

houghj3

Cavy Slave
Hi,
I am new to Guinea Pigs, I've these two sows (they are both sows) for about a week now. I took them over from a previous owner. The one exhibits very dominate behavior (which seems normal based on what I've read on-line). Tonight I have separated them as I think one needs a break from being bullied.

One Guinea Pig is constantly being mounted, pushed away from food bowls and I hear a lot of squealing at night. The dominant one is going a little crazy right now having just been separated.

Am I doing the right thing? Some experience and expertise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Kim37040

Cavy Slave
From everything I have read you should not separate unless there is bloodshed.
Establishing dominance is all part of the process for them. It doesn't just happen once.
My boys go through the routine when I add new things to their cage.
Your girls are better together than a apart. If they fight till there is bloodshed, then separate them.
This is based on what I have read here.
Good luck!

houghj3

Cavy Slave
Okay thanks, it's been only 15 minutes and the dominant is going bezerk trying to get through to the other cage. I blocked off the connecting tube. I will put them back together, no blood shed so I guess it's all right.

Thanks for your help.

Kim37040

Cavy Slave
Okay thanks, it's been only 15 minutes and the dominant is going bezerk trying to get through to the other cage. I blocked off the connecting tube. I will put them back together, no blood shed so I guess it's all right.

Thanks for your help.