Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hey everyone

Be be bounce

Cavy Slave
Hi, just wanted to introduce my self :) I am new to the world of guinea pigs and I am hoping I will be to gain lots of information on here about keeping happy and healthy guinea pigs :) we currently have 2 young males, Charlie who was thought to be a female and turns out we were wrong and a desexed male Sam who we rescued. As it turns out they do not get along any more so they have had to seperatly them. Charlie prefers to be with our rabbit and they get along very well but Sam is all by himself in a big cage so we are in the process of rescuing him a female friend or 2 and Charlie has his vet appointment to be desexed next week so when he recovers we will also find him a female friend. So the plan of having 2 guinea pigs has gone out the window and we are renovating guinea pig homes to fit everyone in :)

zaylea

Cavy Slave
I don't think it's safe to keep a guinea pig and rabbit in the same cage. Guinea pigs are fragile, and the rabbit could hurt the pig without meaning to.

ellisa

Cavy Star, Photo Contest Winner
Cavy Slave
Hello and welcome to the forum! Zaylea is right, rabbits and guinea pigs shouldn't be housed together or play together. The bunny could be excited and decided to pop around and accidentally kick your pig. Or worse get ticked off and bite him. Guinea pigs can get bordatella from rabbits, which could be fatal to your pig.
We would love to see pictures of your pets, rabbit included! :)

Hhbean

Cavy Slave
Hi and welcome! I saw a t-shirt that said "guinea pigs are like potato chips, you can't have just one!". I started the year with one boy and now have 4:crazy:. We're addicted to pictures here so please post them if you can.

Be be bounce

Cavy Slave