Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

C&C First C&C build. Constructive criticism please...

HDFXDB

Cavy Slave
O-k, this is my first attempt at a C&C designed cage. I'm a college student, so I wanted to create something that would be practical for my pig(s) yet quick and easy to clean.

I have seen many multiple level cage layouts with intricate Coroplast designs. I can only imagine that they take a bit of time to do a thorough cleaning each week. Even daily cleaning seems it would be a chore, requiring the removal of whatever cubes, pulling Coroplast elements out, etc.

After a short Google search I discovered the Grid Wire Modular Shelving and Storage Cubes from Bed Bath & Beyond.

14692116719773P.JPG

IMO these make for an excellent loft without requiring a full second level, as you can see they come with cube inserts that can be secured quite nicely. This way you keep your cage at a height of 12" and still provide the extra 2 sq. ft. of floor area.

At $19.99 for a box of 4 cubes, I got two to create this design and had only 1 cube and a handful of the connectors left over.

2011-11-08 17.45.48.jpg

Here is the basic layout. It's 2x5 with covered lofts in either corner. The two cube inserts from each box are used to make each ramp/loft.

2011-11-08 18.51.29.jpg

All zipped up. I put a tie on every 4th square and doubled in corner areas. The best advice I can give on this part is to buy quality zip ties. Going the cheap route will leave you frustrated and heading back to the store for more ties.