Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hello! How do I get my Tatertot up and at 'em?

tatertot101

Cavy Slave
Hello! I have had my guinea pig for about a year and a half. I know guinea pigs at that age are lazy, but when I take him out, he just lays down. Is it ever too much? Also, how are so ways I can make his cage more fun without too much money or too much craft. I am not good at either one of those, and his cage is so big! BTW, he was bought in a pair, but the other was bullied by Tatertot and died after 4 monthes, so that wont work either! Help!

bpatters

Staff member
Cavy Slave
I don't know that year-and-a-half-old guinea pigs are lazy -- mine are two years old, and they run around like madwomen. They don't, however, like floor time, so they don't move much when they're "out."

How much does he weigh? And since you already have a big cage, is there a possibility of getting him a friend?

tatertot101

Cavy Slave
well, like I said, after four monthes, his "buddy" died. He bullied him at night and pulled food away from him. He even confined him into the igloo we bought, so I would consider him "not a good playmate".

PickyPiggy

Cavy Slave
Some guinea pigs are just naturally lazy. My almost 2 year old guinea pig does the same thing, but my 4 year old guinea pigs loves to run around and explore my room. There not together, because the older guinea pig doesn't like the younger guinea pig.

tatertot101

Cavy Slave
Are there any toys you use?

wrongdecade

Cavy Slave