Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Ratties My new babies Roxie and Pixie in new cage built from a coffee table.

Judypie

Cavy Slave
Hi I am new to Rats but I am quickly learning how wonderful they are. I went to pick up my daughter from her friends and saw they had a ton of cages full of animals. Sugar gliders, one Guinea Pig, hedge hog, a bearded dragon, one nasty monitor lizard (big one) and a cage full of rats.
I saw the rats were very friendly and I asked about them. Well I was upset to learn they were dinner for the lizard. I rescued 2 of them. I wanted more but I couldn't. (Now I wish I would have taken maybe 4 of them.)
Well I am going to give them a lovely home now. here is what I built them out of a coffee table I found out by the trash down the street.

P1010924.jpgP1010925.jpgP1010937.jpgP1010939.jpgP1010943.jpg

OllieandFriends

Cavy Gazer
They're adorable and your cage looks amazing! :) I think it's great what you did, resucing those rats, even if you could just save two it's more then what others would do. It's sad that their using them as food, do they feed them to the lizrad live? :eye-poppi

Last edited:

Judypie

Cavy Slave
I didn't ask details about how they feed the lizard. I didn't want to know :(

skinnyguineaus

Cavy Slave
Awesome cage for a rat! I converted a kitchen cupboard this Summer :) I love how it turned out.
Now I have ideas for my coffee table. My husband wont like that. LOL
NICE JOB!

kathlaaron

Cavy Slave
What a darling little home for them ! :eek: I don't know anything about rats, other than I have heard and read that they are usually very intelligent, affectionate, curious, engaging animals. I have also heard they chew through everything !

skinnyguineaus

Cavy Slave
Judypie said: