Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Potty Training

Cavy Tamer

Cavy Slave
I recently purchased a dutch rabbit at a rabbit show. He is about 8 weeks old. Actually, I bought him today... I know its the first day and all, but he's already peed on me twice (the first time I didn't have any "protection") and pooped all over the floor. I put an a cardboard sheet on one side of the cage, and put all his poop there, as well as hay. He doesn't seem to be getting it so far...

How to teach him its not OK to defecate on me?

How to litter train him in general?

I would like him to one day be a free range rabbit.

dashtherabbit

Cavy Slave
I am no expert (new bunny owner too!) but him weeing on you is kind of a marking his teratory thing and it will stop, as for the training, just keep up what you are doing, I am also and I think its just a case of sticking with it. I am going out to buy a cat litter tray to put in the corner of the cage today.

bromers

Cavy Slave
its just a case of sticking to it. what your doing sounds fine, but they cant learn this stuff overnight. it took me 4months to get my bunny fully trained. show your rabbit how is boss.

bunnyluv17

Cavy Slave
Your rabbit is still a baby; and like most babies they cannot control their bowel movements very well. Do you have a litterbox in the cage? If not, I suggest you get one and put rabbit safe litter in there (aspen, wood stove pellets, yesterday's news, carefresh, etc) and a big handful of hay. It will take time for him to learn. When he gets to be around 3-4 months old, I suggest you get him neutered to help with litter training and any hormonal behavior.