Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register
  • ONE THREAD per pig please!
    We really want your pig's history all in one place to help you. Please don't start a new thread for a new issue. Just reply to your old one. We can edit the title for you if needed.

Urine UTI?

acrc1118

Cavy Slave
Hello! I am extremely new to this whole thing, please bare with me.

My little girl Callie is almost 4 years old.
On Tuesday night we put her in her pen for some exercise time and we noticed that when she peed, there seemed to be blood in it. It was late and she was acting normal so we didn't rush her to the emergency vet or anything. The next morning we took her to her regular. They did an x-ray and found no kidney stones, so they had us get a urine sample.

Today, I received a phone call from the vet stating there was still blood in her urine and that there are some crystals in there as well, even though nothing appeared on the x-ray.

He put her on enrofloxacin for 10 days and after that we are suppose to take another sample. Is that a good medicine to treat UTI or kidney stones?

My question is, I am a VERY paranoid mommy and I'm afraid if I wait to long and she does have a developing stone she will die. Is there anymore I should be doing? Is the vet doing everything they can for her?

I also hear somewhere that if it is kidney stones she may need surgery, she I press my vet to be more aggressive in looking for stones?

She is still acting normal, eating, drinking, playing. I'm just afraid that if I wait till she isn't normal it will be to late.

foggycreekcavy

Cavy Gazer
Guinea pigs don't really develop kidney stones, just bladder stones. Sometimes females are able to pass stones without surgery--sometimes with help from the vet flushing them out.