Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Rabbits Planning a C&C Cage for a rescued rabbit.

PSBunny

Cavy Slave
Hello everyone! I'm new around here, so I figured I'd share the story on how I came to acquire my new bunny.

Let me start by saying I work for PetSmart. Two days ago while the store was in full swing in the middle of the day, one of the stockers found a black bunny in receiving. PetSmart doesn't carry rabbits, so our only guess as to how she came to be there was that whoever had owned her decided they didn't want her anymore... must have brought her into our store and let her go without letting anyone know. We're not exactly sure how old she is, since I will definitely admit that I am not a rabbit expert, and definitely don't know what kind of rabbit she is either. Either way, she has a good home now with people who love her.

Unfortunately, she is currently being housed in a small cage that my store had in the back. They're letting me borrow it until I can get a cage of my own. Found this website, and have enjoyed looking at all the cages on here. Definitely want to make one for her.

Just wondering what your suggestions are for a rabbit cage? (i.e. how many levels, how tall, how long, how wide)

Thanks in advance everyone!

suzilovespiggie

Cavy Champion, Previous Forum Moderator
Cavy Slave
Hello there. Welcome and thank you for taking home your new bunny. There is a very good website for bunny care. It is House Rabbit Society.
I have a rabbit. I have dogs and found the c&c cage I made for one of them was not sturdy enough with the dogs. My female stuck her head out between the grids and a dog was right there. He took her ear off. Lucky she hid and I was able to get her to a vet. My rabbits are now in stainless steel cages that the dogs can't penetrate.